2 Step touch up Paint?

Discussion in 'Modifications And Maintenance' started by Woot, Aug 16, 2012.

1. Woot

Woot Well-Known Member

So it turns out the paint on the rear bumper of my hatch is paper thin and I made the mistake of letting my dogs jump into the back the other day. My Australian Shepperd is apparantly not as graceful as my red dog is. Needless to say I am going to be putting the clear bra guard on rear bumper soon but wanted to touch up the paint first. Went to Subaru and they gave me two step paint which I'll admit I've never used before and apparantly neither had anyone in the parts department. I kinda feel like my grandmother in front of a laptop right now. Has anyone used this stuff before? I'm sure it's a no brainer but I always appreciate a little heads up before I get all covered in touch up paint. Mostly wondering if I need to do this in muliple layers.

2. idget

idget Want to pokéman? PM ShortytheFirefighter Staff Member

How good do you want it to look?

Touch-up paint (bottle, pen, 2-step, dr colochip, etc...) will almost always be noticeable unless you wetsand and polish after applying. Even still, results will vary.

Tips:

For application, use capillary action (toothpick, glass pipette, etc...).

Let dry completely (otherwise it'll smear when you wetsand or pull when you polish). This is usually 12-24 hours.

Wetsand carefully, ending with 3000 grit.

Polish with a wool pad or something that won't heat up the surface, otherwise the touchup paint will most likely pull out of the scratch. Remember that the touchup paint is softer than the surrounding paint, adjust your polishing process accordingly.

3. STI_guy

STI_guy Well-Known Member

If you get me the color code I can mix some touch up paint for you I work in a bodyshop

4. Woot

Woot Well-Known Member