Alright photographers, I need some camera advice

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by TMF, May 9, 2016.

1. TMF

TMF Well-Known Member

Hello photographers and camera nerds:

I'm considering a new camera and I've been out of the camera "scene" for a while, so I could use some advice. Our wedding and honeymoon are coming up soon, and I want to be able to take decent pictures on our honeymoon.

Here's what I want/need:
    -something better than my Galaxy S5 Camera and my current Canon Elph 300HS
    --Honestly, the Galaxy S5 doesn't take bad pictures, but I know a dedicated camera can do much better. I've noticed that some of the main downfalls of the S5 are low light situations and white balance in bright light.
    -Current "need" is for photos of us and scenery on our honeymoon.
    -In the future, I would use the camera when I travel.
    -I could also potentially see myself taking photos at autox.
    -I'm a noob when it comes to photography and all the programmable settings. I'd like something that has a solid "Auto" mode, but also has programmable settings for me to learn and grow into.
    -Budget: ?? Ideally, under $500.

I'm open to a DSLR, but I also have read a little bit about these new mirrorless cameras. Otherwise if I can get great photos out of a compact point and shoot, I'd consider that too.

For example: I see that you can find the Nikon D3300 for about $400 (one lens), or $500 with two lenses. I also saw that Best Buy has a sale on the Nikon 70D for $1,000 (with 18-55mm lens). For my amateur skill level, would the 70D be a total waste, and would the D3300 be more than adequate? I'm definitely open to other brands and non-DSLR also...I'm just using this as an example.

Thanks in advance!

2. xluben

xluben Well-Known Member

These are the top things I would think about when making this decision:
    • What are you going to use the photos for?