Another fuel thread

Discussion in 'General Subaru Discussion' started by kickin_81, Sep 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kickin_81

kickin_81 Well-Known Member

Hey, guys! I just found out that the Amoco gas station (off of County rd 10 and 35W in Mounds Park) where I always get my gasoline at sold non-oxygenated fuel!!! The label on the pump states that the fuel is for old muscle cars and off-road vehicles only (100% fuel for the <font color="red">same price of standard 92 octane</font id="red">).

Questions:
    What pros and cons associate with non-oxygenated/100% fuel?
    Less cleaning detergents?
    Octane ratings drop as fuel ages, and standard oxygenated fuel does this in a matter of weeks. Should I worry when using a fuel I suspect could be old?

2. Grimm

Grimm New Member

Here is a side view.... I am an environmental engineer doing air quality models and state implentation plans. I say.... take off your cats, and use non-oxegenated fuels.

KEEP ME EMPLOYED DAMIT!

I am sure someone with much more inteligence about this stuff will answer. If they don't I will give my thoughts.

I can say for sure that old gas has a drop off of it's power per volume due to the loss of VOC's (volitle organic carbons).

3. Musashi

Musashi Well-Known Member

Mr. F: "Should I worry when using a fuel I suspect could be old?"

You have absolutely nothing to worry about. Cuz you driving is as fast as a turtle. ;)

4. kickin_81

Ok, ignore what I asked about "old gasoline." I know that it is bad to use non-oxygenated fuel due to it's tendency to form more ozone than the standard, earth-friendly gasoline, but on race days, I would assume it is nothing worse than race fuel, correct?

Are there any side effects besides increased emissions?