Fuel pump hardwiring

Discussion in 'Modifications And Maintenance' started by joebush44, Mar 14, 2017.

1. joebush44

joebush44 Well-Known Member

Per my tuner's recommendation, I'm going to hardwire my Walbro 450 fuel pump. After doing some research, I'm going to use the following diagram. From my understanding, this will bypass the FPC on the power side, but still use the ground signal to the FPC to control FP duty (33%, 66%, or 100%).
    [​IMG]
    In speaking with Brian at iWire, he's questioning the benefit to wiring it this way at all since the power is still going back through the ground and routing to FPC and the FPC is still a "bottleneck"...

From Brian:
    "So I get the theory because the power side gets some voltage drop through the module, but I think there is a flaw in practice because of the way electricity works (keep in mind I'm not an Electrical Engineer). DC flows like water from the power feed (battery) to the ground end point (battery negative or a something metal). So if it needs a good flowing path to ground, and that ground goes through the module too, then wouldn't it have the same problem as the power side? Possibly even worse because the ground side is the part that regulates how hard the pump is working, so there is more circuitry that is involved thus more places for electricity to be dammed up or lost to other outlets.

Seems to me, the only way to really make a difference (which I'm not convinced for most setups is necessary) would be to run the ground direct to chassis using a short, proper gauge wire and run power direct (via a relay) to the pump itself. That way you have a free flow from start to finish and still have the ability to turn the pump on and off with the ECU."

Is there a better way to accomplish this? What he's saying makes sense, but I'm not sure that I'd want the pump running 100% at ALL TIMES (with the key on), which is what would happen if bypassing the FPC entirely and running it off a relay.