Garage Lighting

Discussion in 'General Subaru Discussion' started by xluben, Dec 10, 2012.

1. xluben

xluben Well-Known Member

Anyone have suggestions for garage lighting?

I have a two car garage and it could use some more lighting. I primarily do all the work on one side, so lighting one bay more than the other would be fine. I currently have two bare incandescent bulbs in the ceiling. One in the middle of the garage, and one near the back.

To supplement that I use a plug in work light with a compact fluorescent bulb (similar to this):

[​IMG]

I also have a battery powered LED light (similar to this):

[​IMG]

I am not an electrician, so I am thinking that I could either replace the bubs/fixtures currently installed and/or add lighting via electrical outlets. I don't know if I'd be comfortable adding extra wiring for new fixtures (I wouldn't even know where to begin).

I'm not sure if I should get stand mounted work lights, and possibly just hang them around. This could be good because I could move them if necessary. Or if I should just permanently mount lights (maybe florescent bulbs?) in areas that I think will be useful.

Thoughts/suggestions?

2. BroCo

BroCo Moderator Staff Member

I have some halogen ceiling lights sitting around. I got them from a friend of mine who used them in his wood shop.

Mr.Tran likes this.
  3. readymix

readymix ...Lest ye be trod upon... Staff Member

I did mine by going to Menards and buying the cheap flourescent 2 bulb cieling mount lamps and some conduit piping. About 4 fixtures to a stall should do it.

4. xluben

xluben Well-Known Member

^I like this idea. Maybe I'm really dumb, but what's the pipe for? Mounting or running wiring?

5. readymix

readymix ...Lest ye be trod upon... Staff Member

Running the wiring. I mean, you could run it above the drywall in the cieling if you wanted. Would save you money I suppose. I just don't like having exposed wires.

6. xluben

xluben Well-Known Member