Where do I start in making my 2.5 RS a Turbo?

Discussion in 'General Subaru Discussion' started by frogzll, Aug 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. frogzll

frogzll New Member

Any ideas? I am new to this hobby and have no idea where to even start. Any suggestion on websites? Any advise you have will be greatly appreciated.

2. Deride

Deride Well-Known Member

You start with a motor swap. =p

3. LilRed

LilRed Well-Known Member

+1 for that! that's what i'm saving for

4. SenorSubie

SenorSubie Well-Known Member

+1 for motor swap

what year is your rs? you can buy turbo kits for some years, they will cost about 2300 and be very unreliable (BOOM)

5. Deride

Deride Well-Known Member

Turbo kits will end up costing as much if not more than a swap... and yes they are not as reliable.

6. Steve-o

Steve-o Administrator Staff Member

Yup, and they make more power.

7. LVT

LVT Well-Known Member

actually, a custom turbo kit could cost less than a swap.....but there are no more potentials to it. what you can achieve is as much as you'll get....you'll be much better off with a swap!

8. Dynapar

Dynapar Well-Known Member

ok, first off go to RS25.com and do some reading in the turbo forums. there are plenty of good posts there detailing every part of a DIY turbo kit.

as stated above a swap is the easier and safer way to more potentail power. however what LVT said is correct. a DIY turbo kit can cost you less then a swap if you know what your doing. ie. i made my turbo kit from scratch i started w/ 0 parts. $2100 i had a turbo kit on my car that is on par with any pre-made kit out there.

9. rsimage

rsimage New Member

I've got a turbo kit that i'm willing to sell you pm me if you're interested. It's for a 2000 rs

10. RallyNavvie

RallyNavvie Well-Known Member