Why do all aftermarket exhausts sound awful to me?

Discussion in 'General Subaru Discussion' started by freeskierwi, Feb 26, 2009.

1. freeskierwi

freeskierwi New Member

Ok, for starters, this is only my opinion. So, all you hardcore’s out there don’t hunt me down and burn my lawn or kick my dog…

I am a newb to the Subaru community. After searching and avoiding many impulse buys for a long time, I just purchased my first Subi a few months ago. An ’06 stock STI.

But recently I have caught some serious flack from other local Subaru owners because I actually like how my car sounds with the stock pipe and cats. I can hear the turbo spool up and down. It has a natural throaty growl, which seems to come from the bowels of the beast. I feel pressure against my jeans right now, just thinking about it.

My buddy has an ’05 stage two, wingless, WRB, sexy as all hell WRX. But he has the most ridiculous exhaust set-up. I do believe that he as removed all but one cat (this is a guess). So he basically has 3†straight out the back. I know he was just trying to milk a few extra hp’s, and make it sound like a rally car. But I just can’t bring myself to do this to my stock STI. It sounds like it has a mega-phone attached to it. You can hardly hear his turbo, let alone yourself think. If he was looking to have a car sound like a rally car, wouldn’t one want it to have the power of a rally car too? It seems absurd to have such a vocal exhaust, for so little benefit.

This morning I made the mistake of telling him off by calling his car a ‘riced out civic’. I do believe this was harsh, sarcastic and quite un-called for. But, it sounds friggin ridiculous to me. Is this wrong? If we love our subaru’s so much, why must we feel the need to change every aspect of them? Does anyone else love their stock STI sound besides me?

What are your thoughts on this? I know I’m a newb, so if you’re just going to shove newby comments down my throat, so be it.

Don’t kick my dog either.