Calling all cyclists! I need your help!

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by minnesotanice, Nov 30, 2020.

1. minnesotanice

minnesotanice Well-Known Member

Hello! First off, I'm relatively new to biking. I bought a used 29er over the summer to help get me out of the house and get some exercise. With the cold (more so the darkness) that exists in our state, I haven't been able to ride as of late and want to keep riding through the winter in my garage on a trainer.

The trainer that I have fits my bike by millimeter (singular) and when I started riding on it, I notice a rubbery smell. I also know that riding on knobby tires on trainers isn't ideal due to noise and wear, so in an effort to make things a bit easier, I want to get a tire that I can ride on the trainer, then swap back out when spring comes around.

Is there anything specific to look for outside of a smoother tire? Do they sell more commuter style tires for wheels this size?

Specs on my bike:
    2014 Specialized Stumpjumper hardtail
    29x2.3 tires with tubeless set up
    Unknown aftermarket crank (bought it used)

Thanks for any input!

2. Krazylegz1485

Krazylegz1485 Well-Known Member

I'm by far not an expert in this area, but I can at least tell you what I've got going on.

I've got a Trek Marlin and the "normal" tires are Bontrager XR2, 29x2.00.

I picked up a trainer last year when I got the bike (basically at Thanksgiving, so couldn't even ride it right away unless I got the trainer) and the wife picked me up a "street" tire from the shop where we got the bike from. It made a significant difference in noise and was definitely nicer to ride "on" with the trainer.

Anywho, it's also a Bontrager. Looks like the "model" is H5 and the size is 700x45. I'm guessing that's metric and the other is standard? It's got a significantly narrower width and required a different tube size as well. Definitely worth it, tho.