Hello.

Discussion in 'The Welcome Mat' started by noobyhere, Apr 12, 2013.

1. noobyhere

noobyhere New Member

[​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    Hello, I'm new to this forum and also new to the Subaru world. I have no experience with cars so I know NOTHING about it. My dad and relatives fix the cars for me but I am learning. I just want a good looking car that isn't too expensive to afford. I am a 19 year old student, living in Saint Paul with my parents, and I have a full time job that pays 9/hr, probably 1.1k/month from both checks. I don't have any bills but my phone bill which is 100$/month. I don't know how much insurance will be for me at this age but i heard its expensive. I might go under my parents insurance which is triple A .I'm planning on buying a 2005 Subaru Legacy GT and I have a couple of questions about it.The reason why I am planning to get one is because of the looks. If I do buy one, I am not planning to buy anything for it to save money. I am just going to buy what it needs to be fix, to help me get to school and home, to save money.
    Is LGT the best car to buy for a college student who still lives with his parents? Is it cheap?
    How much is insurance for a LGT? How much are your insurance if you own a LGT?
    What is the right price for a LGT for the right mileage?
    Other Cost to look out for when buying a LGT?
    I am currently looking at a 2005 LGT that has 117k for 9k. is that too much for the mileage?
    Please give me your opinion. If I am going on a stressful road, please let me know.
    Thank you very much.

2. Tash

Tash Well-Known Member

Lgt isn't too much to insure compared to the wrx/sti. Though it will be more expensive than a non turbo model. As for pricing on the car its hard to say, prices are all over the board. At that mileage make sure the timing belt has been re-done along with all other maintenance. Find out if it has been modified and if the banjo filters have been removed. That's a start.

phi11 likes this.