Lifting 2017 WRX

Discussion in 'Modifications And Maintenance' started by Jason C, Feb 20, 2018.

1. Jason C

Jason C Well-Known Member

I'm interested in a 1" lift for my 2017 WRX. After doing some Googling, I found a lot more info for the older chassis models than for the 2015+, which makes sense. I'm a complete noob to suspension knowledge and am trying to weigh pros and cons before I decide to go deeper into this idea or just abandon it.
    As I understand, a lift can be accomplished a few ways. One is to use spacers while keeping the stock struts and springs. Second is to install stiffer springs designed to compress less and make the car sit taller. Third is a swap of suspension parts - a Forester suspension supposedly fits the Impreza chassis.

My reason for looking into a lift is to combat scraping on my steep driveway, guard against rough dirt roads going to my hunting grounds, and I think a slight lift makes the car look nicer. My car is a daily driver and it goes where I go. I don't drive hard nor will I ever track it. Honestly, it works fine as it is with the stock suspension, but I've gotten the mod bug and a 1" lift is something I think would be very functional.

A few questions I have about lifting:

- no matter what I do (springs, spacers, swap) a suspension alignment is required?

- from my understanding of spacers, they simply move the suspension lower (or car body higher) so the undercarriage sits higher off the ground, but the spring rate is unchanged. Since the car now sits higher, can I expect more body roll?

- with springs, my understanding is they just compress less so the car is higher up. Since the suspension is unchanged, the travel is the same but I would get less body roll due to the stiffer springs? So would it feel more like stock? Or would spacers feel more like stock?

- I'm not ruling out a swap (if at all possible) but I imagine it would be the most expensive. Is the Forester suspension softer and longer travel?