Saving a bugeye

Discussion in 'Photo & Video Gallery' started by atacamaR, May 28, 2010.

1. atacamaR

atacamaR Well-Known Member

Back in April I picked up a 2002 bugeye that had been rear ended. I wanted to document the teardown and build up that occurred to save this car from being scrapped. Hopefully, some of you will find this thread interesting.

Current Status: sold.

Just about to cross 140k miles. Leaking oil from cam gear, was fixed, one bad wheel bearing repaired, another to go.

A little background:
    I'm new to the Subaru world and I'm learning as I go along. I'm not a mechanic but I'm not scared of tools either. I consider myself an enthusiast.

My current daily driver '05 s60 R. The volvo is similar to a legacy when you compare features/size/etc and it makes a great family car. I had two kids so a 2dr just didn't cut it, so it was time for my first 4dr. I probably cried like a little girl, I don't really remember.

I was looking for a great all around car and wanted awd, something turbo charged and more power than the civic gave me. I ended up with the R over a Legacy GT

The R packs a 5cyl turbo with 300hp, 330mm rotors front and rear, 4 piston Brembo calipers, and an active suspension. I preferred the 6spd manual. I've never actually owned an auto and I'm not sure I would know how to drive one. The 300hp is factory claimed but in reality it is more like 280ish with less at the wheels. Lets not talk about what hot weather does to it :( . The dual intercoolers are pretty much a joke and the AWD is haldex which is inferior to Subaru's 50/50. The R is a great all around car with top notch leather, super comfortable seats, great stereo, nice body lines, great brakes, and refined power thats more than enough for me. It's pretty much a sleeper as you don't see one on every corner, I love it.

Here are a few pics of the R. It's mostly stock except for a few minor handling upgrades, catback exhaust, and a few other small tweaks.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]